Alumni Awards

The Young Alumni Award

Inaugurated in 2022, the Young Alumni Award recognizes a young alum who embodies the core values of Kent Denver School and has made significant personal achievements in serving the local, national, or international community.

Nominees for this award must:

  • have graduated in the last 15 years at the time of nomination;
  • have developed, implemented, or participated in a program, event, or special outreach effort that improves the lives of others;
  • embody the core values of Kent Denver School: integrity, respect, personal growth, community and wisdom.


The Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award recognizes and celebrates the accomplishments of our alumni who demonstrate:

"Extraordinary distinction and success in fields of endeavor, commitment to community service, and/or exceptional leadership in one's community while successfully carrying forward ‘excellence in scholarship and character’."

Nicholas mihm

Photos courtesy of the 2008 KDS Yearbook (L) and Nicholas Mihm (R)

Nicholas Mihm '08
2022 Young Alumni Honoree

A member of the class of 2008, Nicholas Mihm,  a filmmaker, is Kent Denver's inaugural Young Alumni Honoree. His first feature, In the Dark of the Valley, which he also directed and edited, was nominated for a 2022 Emmy in the Outstanding Social Issue Documentary category. 

Cambrie Nelson '05
2023 Distinguished Alumni Honoree

As a member of Kent Denver’s Class of 2005, Cambrie has worked or volunteered in an astonishing number of organizations and communities. 

Cambrie Nelson '05

      Photo by Vlad Petruniv

As a Kent Denver student, Cambrie was an outstanding athlete on both the basketball and soccer teams. She was also a student leader on this campus from her earliest days in the Middle School and was awarded the Christine D. Bullard Athletic Award, the Mary A. Bogue Trophy and the Herbert Moore Student Assembly Award in her senior year.

After graduating from Kent Denver, Cambrie was part of the Ervin Scholars Program at Washington University in St. Louis, where she founded a number of student and community organizations focused on promoting communication, understanding and social justice. Following college graduation, Cambrie returned to Kent Denver as a Middle School teaching fellow, history faculty member and basketball coach and served as our founding Director of Diversity and Inclusion. Her career continued with an MBA at Washington University’s Olin Business School and leadership roles as a director and consultant with multiple social impact consulting firms. 

Cambrie is now the Deputy Director of Strategy, Planning, and Management for the Gender Equality Division at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. Her work includes a portfolio of projects related to economic empowerment, healthcare, digital connectivity, and policy & advocacy. 

Previous Distinguished Alumni Award Winners